Category: Weapons Offenses

Weapons Offenses | No Cuffs

New California Laws

The U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that criminal suspects’ statements can be used against them if they fail to invoke their rights.

The court ruled 5-4 that criminal suspects have a duty to invoke the rights outlined in the historic Miranda vs. Arizona decision, including the right to remain silent and to have an attorney present during questioning. In the past, the court held that the government had the burden of demonstrating that a suspect had knowingly and intelligently waived his rights.

Tuesday’s ruling addressed a Michigan case where a man was convicted of murder based largely on his one-word response to a question after nearly three hours of interrogation.  His conviction was overturned by an appeals court that ruled that using his answer to convict him violated his right against self-incrimination. The Supreme Court’s ruling overturned that decision.
Our constitutional rights have eroded considerably in recent years, so it’s more important than ever to have a skilled defense lawyer on your side if you’re under investigation for a criminal charge.  The top California defense attorneys of The Kavinoky Law Firm are well-known for standing up for the rights of their clients, and will do everything possible to protect you during a criminal investigation. Contact a skilled California defense lawyer today at 1-800-NO-CUFFS for a free consultation.

A new year brings new laws in California, and 2010 is no exception.  There are a number of new laws on the books that impact convicted DUI drivers and certain individuals charged with California theft or other property crimes. Another new law increases the amount of time credit earned by certain inmates in California county jails and prisons.  Yet another new law prevents authorities from sending low-level, non-violent offenders back to prison for parole violations. As in every year, the list of new California laws is lengthy, so we’ve summarized the most noteworthy ones here. If you have any questions about any of these new laws and how they will affect your case, you can always contact The Kavinoky Law Firm at 1-800-NO-CUFFS.

Two new laws will impact many individuals convicted of DUI. AB 91 creates a pilot program that requires every driver convicted of DUI in Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento and Tulare counties – even first offenders – to install and use an ignition interlock device.  The law will remain in effect until 2016, when the pilot program may be extended and expanded to include other counties.

SB 598 is a bill that will allow DUI offenders to obtain restricted driver’s licenses sooner than they would otherwise if they install and use an ignition interlock device.  Convicted DUI drivers will still have a certain period of “hard” suspension when they are not allowed to drive at all, but that hard suspension will be shortened by installing an ignition interlock device.

A new law that takes effect January 25, 2010 increases the dollar amount that determines whether more than 30 theft and property crime offenses can be charged as felonies rather than misdemeanors.  For example, the threshold for a felony charge of writing a check with non-sufficient funds increased from $200 to $400. The limits for some offenses, such as theft of currency or jewelry, remain unchanged.

Certain individuals serving time in California county jails will earn more time credits than before under another new law that takes effect on January 25, 2010. In the past, inmates in county jails earned two days of credit for every four days spent in custody. Under the new law, they will earn two days of credit for every two days served.  Some defendants are excluded from earning the additional credit for time served. They include individuals convicted of violent felonies who are limited to a 15-percent reduction credit under California Penal Code section 2933.1; those required to register as sex offenders; and individuals convicted of serious felonies or with prior convictions for serious felonies. Up to six weeks of additional credit can also be earned by many state prison inmates who complete certain prison programs.

Another new law that takes effect January 25, 2010 prevents certain individuals from being returned to prison for parole violations. The individual cannot be returned to prison for a parole violation if all of the following are true: he or she is not required to register as a sex offender, wasn’t convicted of a serious felony, doesn’t have a prior conviction for a serious felony, wasn’t convicted of a sex crime, wasn’t found guilty of a serious disciplinary offense, isn’t a validated gang member or associate, didn’t refuse to sign a notification of parole conditions, and wasn’t determined in an evaluation to have a high risk of reoffending.

Understanding California’s complex criminal statutes and the many new laws that are passed each year is difficult. Fortunately, the knowledgeable California defense attorneys of The Kavinoky Law Firm ensure that they’re up on the latest developments in the law, so that you don’t have to.  If you have any questions about any aspect of your California criminal case, please don’t hesitate to call us today at 1-800-NO-CUFFS.

New California Driving Laws for 2009

As of January 1, 2009, a host of new driving laws went on the books in California, and being aware of these statutes will help you avoid trouble with the law in the New Year. As always, if you have any questions about any California Vehicle Code, feel free to contact an attorney from The Kavinoky Law Firm at 1.877.466.2833 for more information.

Perhaps the most talked-about new law is California’s ban on texting. As of January 1, it’s against the law to type, send, and read electronic messages while behind the wheel. Like California’s law requiring the use of hands-free cell phones while driving, the new text-messaging ban carries a $20 fine for a first offense and a $50 fine for a second offense, but the state’s “penalty assessment” means the fine will be significantly higher.

Even more importantly, violating either of these laws gives police probable cause to pull you over, which can lead to more serious charges. These types of relatively minor violations can result in an arrest for DUI or another serious offense.

Another new law impacts drivers who are on probation for a California DUI conviction. Under the new zero-tolerance law, drivers on probation for a prior DUI conviction who have any measurable amount of alcohol in their systems will have their driver’s licenses suspended.

California has also lowered the threshold for ignition interlock devices, or IIDs, in DUI cases. In the past, California law required that judges give “heightened consideration” to ordering DUI drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .20 percent or greater to use an ignition interlock device. The new law lowers the threshold for an IID, which prevents a car from starting if the driver cannot provide an alcohol-free breath sample, to .15 percent.

Beginning in July 2009, drivers who are caught driving after having their licenses suspended for a prior DUI conviction will also be required to use an ignition interlock device. This new law also transfers authority over the use of ignition interlock devices from the courts to the California Department of Motor Vehicles.

New California legislation also requires drivers convicted of DUI or alcohol-related reckless driving – also known as “wet-reckless” – to attend a nine-month alcohol-education program if they’ve been convicted of another DUI or wet-reckless offense within the past decade.

Other changes to the law include new criminal penalties for forging Clean Air stickers, harsher penalties for those who make frivolous 911 calls, and changes to the law that governs where GPS units can be mounted. In the past, mounting the unit on the windshield was against the law. Now drivers can mount the devices in a 7-inch square on the lower passenger side of the windshield or a 5-inch square on the lower corner of the driver’s side.

By keeping yourself informed about California’s ever-evolving vehicle and criminal codes, you can better prepare yourself to stay out of trouble in 2009. And should you ever need us, the experienced California defense lawyers of The Kavinoky Law Firm are here to help. You can contact us at 1.877.466.2833 for answers to all of your questions about California vehicle and criminal codes.

 

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE CHARGES FOR ATV DRIVERS

Friday, June 30, 2006

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE CHARGES FOR ATV DRIVERS

WOODLAND HILLS, Calif. — Fans of sun and sand are gearing up for fun summer weekends full of riding ATVs and drinking with friends.  However, those who enjoy a few beers before driving an all-terrain vehicle may be in for an unfortunate surprise:  DUI charges can be brought against them, and those charges can be devastating.

In recent years the dangers and illegality of boating under the influence have been emphasized, and many people now know that they can be arrested for drinking and boating. However, many people do not realize that driving an all-terrain vehicle while impaired is just as dangerous and just as illegal.

“The punishments for driving an ATV while intoxicated are identical to those for driving a car under the influence of alcohol,” said California criminal defense attorney Wendy Wittenberg.  “I’ve dealt with many defendants who were arrested and charged with DUI while driving ATVs.  They were all shocked.  They had no idea that it was illegal, or that they could lose their driving privileges and serve jail time.”

According to California law, a person driving any vehicle on a public highway can be arrested for driving under the influence if his or her blood alcohol content measures .08 percent or more.  If convicted, this person may have to serve jail time, participate in a DUI school and pay fines.  The Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend the defendant’s Class C driver license even without a conviction.

“Of course, when people are arrested for DUI while driving an ATV, many times they argue that they weren’t on a public roadway.  Unfortunately for these defendants, sand dunes are considered public roadways for the purpose of California driving under the influence laws,” said Wittenberg.  “This means that anyone driving in a sand dune while intoxicated can be arrested for DUI.”

Wittenberg has handled many ATV DUI arrests, and she is beginning to see a trend.  “More and more clients are calling me to help defend DUI charges while driving ATVs.  It probably is not due to more people drinking and driving, but more intense surveillance.”

These arrests can happen in a number of ways.  Many times, ATV drivers are turned in by rangers at the dunes.  These rangers will investigate the situation, and then contact the California Highway Patrol or local police department to report a suspicious driver.  In other instances, citizens can call the arresting officers with information about a suspected drunken driver.  The officers will then drive to the scene to investigate the situation and to possibly arrest the offender.

In addition to being illegal, driving an ATV while intoxicated is dangerous.  In the last 20 years, there have been more than 300 ATV-related deaths in California.  It is assumed that at least some of these accidents were due to intoxication of the driver.

“It’s important to use common sense about safety while driving in the dunes,” said Wittenberg.  “Drinking and driving is never a good idea, no matter what vehicle is driven.”

Wendy Wittenberg is an attorney at California-based criminal defense firm The Kavinoky Law Firm.  The attorneys of The Kavinoky Law Firm focus on customer service, and they take pride in their one-on-one approach with clients. They work tirelessly to have the best reputation of all criminal defense firms in the state.  www.NoCuffs.com

###

For more information, contact Angie Rupert at (818) 346-4646 or [email protected].
Prepared by Angie Rupert.

Online Traffic Schools

Online Traffic Schools

Drivers who receive moving violations often opt to attend a California traffic school in order to clear the offense from their records and keep insurance rates low. In the past, traffic school meant sacrificing a Saturday or a couple of weeknights in a crowded, stuffy conference room. However, it’s now possible to attend a California online traffic school in the comfort of home. EconomyTrafficSchool.com offers an affordable, court-approved traffic school program that can be completed at the driver’s convenience.

EconomyTrafficSchool.com is approved by the courts in Los Angeles, Ventura, San Diego, and dozens of other California counties. They process their completion certificates daily, so there’s no waiting to satisfy court requirements. The courses are affordable, and there are no hidden fees. Students can access the website at any time, which means that the course can be completed around work, school, and other obligations.

Traffic school courses from EconomyTrafficSchool.com are divided up into units that include reading, graphics, video segments, and review questions. Students can complete the course in one sitting or return as many times as necessary. At the end of the course, students must pass a multiple-choice test, with unlimited re-tests available. Once the test is passed, the driver will receive an instant completion confirmation and the certificate will be filed via mail, fax, or e-mail, depending on the court requirements. For those with an impending deadline, EconomyTrafficSchool.com offers affordable overnight delivery rates.

EconomyTrafficSchool.com also offers online driver’s education classes for teenagers. School budget cuts have long meant that driver’s DE classes are no longer available in high schools, but an affordable online version is now available.

Attendance at a California traffic school used to mean sacrificing evenings or a Saturday to listen to boring lectures, but not anymore. EconomyTrafficSchool.com offers a convenient, affordable online California traffic school course that can be completed in the privacy of the driver’s home or office, or anywhere with Internet access. Registering is easy – start today to protect your driving record and keep insurance rates low.

California Vehicle Code VC 13352.4 – First Offense: Completion of DUI Program and Restricted Driver’s License

California Vehicle Code VC 13352.4 – First Offense: Completion of DUI Program and Restricted Driver’s License

13352.4. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (h), the department shall issue a restricted driver’s license to a person whose driver’s license was suspended under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352, if the person meets all of the following requirements:

  1. Submits proof satisfactory to the department of enrollment in, or completion of, a driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538.
  2. Submits proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430.
  3. Pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee required by the department.

(b) The restriction of the driving privilege shall become effective when the department receives all of the documents and fees required under subdivision (a) and shall remain in effect until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 have been met, whichever date is later, and may include credit for any suspension period served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3.

(c) The restriction of the driving privilege shall be limited to the hours necessary for driving to and from the person’s place of employment, driving during the course of employment, and driving to and from activities required in the driving-under-the-influence program.

(d) Whenever the driving privilege is restricted under this section, proof of financial responsibility, as defined in Section 16430, shall be maintained for three years. If the person does not maintain that proof of financial responsibility at any time during the restriction, the driving privilege shall be suspended until the proof required under Section 16484 is received by the department.

(e) For the purposes of this section, enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit may not be given to a program activity completed prior to the date of the current violation.

(f) The department shall terminate the restriction issued under this section and shall suspend the privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 immediately upon receipt of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The privilege shall remain suspended until the final day of the original suspension imposed under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352, or until the date all reinstatement requirements described in Section 13352 have been met, whichever date is later.

(g) The holder of a commercial driver’s license who was operating a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the person’s noncommercial driving privilege under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352 is not eligible for the restricted driver’s license authorized under this section.

(h) If, upon conviction, the court has made the determination, as authorized under subdivision (d) of Section 23536 or paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 23538, to disallow the issuance of a restricted driver’s license, the department may not issue a restricted driver’s license under this section.

(i) This section shall become operative on September 20, 2005.

Added Sec. 5, Ch. 551, Stats. 2004. Effective January 1, 2005. Operative September 20, 2005.

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

California Vehicle Code VC 13359 – Grounds for Suspension or Revocation

California Vehicle Code VC 13359 – Grounds for Suspension or Revocation

13359. The department may suspend or revoke the privilege of any person to operate a motor vehicle upon any of the grounds which authorize the refusal to issue a license.

Amended Ch. 498, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977.

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

California Vehicle Code VC 13372 – Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of Ambulance Driver Certificate

California Vehicle Code VC 13372 – Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of Ambulance Driver Certificate

13372. (a) The department shall ( )1 refuse to issue or renew, or shall suspend or revoke an ambulance driver certificate if any of the following apply to the applicant or certificate holder:

  1. Is required to register as a sex offender under Section 290 of the Penal Code for any offense involving force, violence, threat, or intimidation.
  2. Habitually or excessively uses or is addicted to narcotics or dangerous drugs.
  3. Is on parole or probation for any felony, theft, or any crime involving force, violence, threat, or intimidation.

(b) The department may ( )1 refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend or revoke an ambulance driver certificate if any of the following apply to the applicant or certificate holder:

  1. Has been convicted ( )2 within seven years of any offense punishable as a felony or has been convicted during that period of any theft.
  2. Has committed any act involving moral turpitude, including fraud or intentional dishonesty for personal gain, within ( )3 seven years.
  3. Habitually and excessively uses intoxicating beverages.
  4. Has been convicted within ( )3 seven years of any offense ( )4 relating to the use, sale, possession, or transportation of narcotics or addictive or dangerous drugs, or of any misdemeanor involving force, violence, threat, or intimidation.
  5. Is on probation to the department for a cause involving the unsafe operation of a motor vehicle.
  6. Within ( )5 three years ( )6 has had his or her driver’s license suspended or revoked by the department for a cause involving the unsafe operation of a motor vehicle, or, within the same period, has been convicted of any of the following:
    1. Failing to stop and render aid in an accident involving injury or death.
    2. ( )7 Driving-under-the-influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, or under the combined influence of intoxicating liquor and any drug.
    3. Reckless driving, or reckless driving involving bodily injury.
  7. Has knowingly ( )8 made a false statement or failed to disclose a material fact in his ( )9 or her application. ( )10.
  8. Has been involved as a driver in any motor vehicle accident causing death or bodily injury or in three or more motor vehicle accidents ( )11 within one year.
  9. Does not meet minimum medical standards specified in this code or in regulations adopted pursuant to this code.
  10. Has demonstrated irrational behavior or incurred a physical disability to the extent that a reasonable and prudent person would have reasonable cause to believe that the ability to perform the duties normally expected of an ambulance driver may be impaired.
  11. Has violated any provision of this code or any rule or regulation adopted by the Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol relating to the operation of emergency ambulances ( )11 within one year.
  12. Has committed any act that warrants dismissal, as provided in Section 13373.

(c) ( )12 (1) Reapplication following refusal or revocation under subdivision (a) or (b) may be made after a period of not less than one year after the effective date of the refusal or revocation, except in cases where a longer period of refusal, suspension, or revocation is required by law.

(2) Reapplication following refusal or revocation under subdivision (a) or (b) may be made if a felony or misdemeanor conviction supporting the refusal or revocation is reversed or dismissed. A termination of probation and dismissal of charges under Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code or a dismissal of charges under Section 1203.4a of the Penal Code is not a dismissal for purposes of this section.

Amended Sec. 4, Ch. 66, Stats. 2005. Effective January 1, 2006.
The 2005 amendment added the italicized material, and at the point(s) indicated, deleted the following:

  1. "deny"
  2. "during the preceding"
  3. "the preceding"
  4. "relative"
  5. "the"
  6. "immediately preceding the application"
  7. "Driving under the influence"
  8. "falsified"
  9. "and"
  10. "Applicants refused certification under this provision shall not be issued an ambulance driver certificate within 12 months of that refusal."
  11. "during the preceding one-year period"
  12. "The department may revoke or suspend the ambulance driver certificate of any person who gives any cause, before or after issuance of the certificate, for either mandatory or discretionary refusal of certification."

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

California Vehicle Code VC 23580 – Repeat Offenders: Mandatory Imprisonment

California Vehicle Code VC 23580 – Repeat Offenders: Mandatory Imprisonment

23580. (a) If any person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 and the offense was a second or subsequent offense punishable under Section 23540, 23546, 23550, 23550.5, 23560, or 23566, the court shall require that any term of imprisonment that is imposed include at least one period of not less than 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment or, in the alternative and notwithstanding Section 4024.2 of the Penal Code, that the person serve not less than 10 days of community service.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, except Section 2900.5 of the Penal Code, unless the court expressly finds in the circumstances that the punishment inflicted would be cruel or unusual punishment prohibited by Section 17 of Article I of the California Constitution, no court or person to whom a person is remanded for execution of sentence shall release, or permit the release of, a person from the requirements of subdivision (a), including, but not limited to, any work-release program, weekend service of sentence program, diversion or treatment program, or otherwise.

(c) For the purposes of this section, "imprisonment" means confinement in a jail, in a minimum security facility, or in an inpatient rehabilitation facility, as provided in Part 1309 (commencing with Section 1309.1) of Title 23 of the Code of Federal Regulations.

Added Sec. 84, Ch. 118, Stats. 1998. Effective January 1, 1999. Operative July 1, 1999.
Amended Sec. 223, Ch. 664, Stats. 2002. Effective January 1, 2003.

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

Children in the Car

Children in the Car

In California, arrests for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs trigger two separate cases. A driver faces a California DMV case and a California criminal case. Each case should be seen to immediately in order to avoid unnecessary negative consequences. A qualified DUI / DWI lawyer can handle both aspects of the DUI / DWI case. In California DMV cases a person arrested on suspicion of drunk driving has ten days within the date of arrest to request a Department of Motor Vehicles hearing or the DMV will automatically begin a process of suspending the person’s license to drive.

While the D.M.V. deals with the driver’s license, the criminal court deals with punishing the convicted. In the criminal case people will face enhanced sentences for having children in the car while driving under the influence. The driver does not have to enter a guilty plea. An accomplished and experienced DUI / DWI attorney can fight the case and win. Oftentimes it is expensive to fight a DUI / DWI case, but it is possible to win a case with the help of a criminal defense attorney.

In driving under the influence cases, the prosecutor has a choice to file additional sentence enhancing charges. The common charges are for speeding, having children in the car, or for causing an injury or traffic accident. When one is convicted of a sentence enhancing charge the punishment ordered by the court can be harsh. A California DUI / DWI attorney with vast experience can work to limit the affect of any sentence enhancements.

When one is convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs with children in the car, the additional punishment will be 48 hours in jail for a first-time offender, 10 days for a second-time offender, 30 days for a third-time offender, and 90 days for the four-time offender. This sentence is mandatory. Unless a an experienced drunk driving criminal defense lawyer can exonerate the driver of the charges, he or she will go to jail. The courts take crimes involving the endangerment of children very seriously. Many times children do not have a choice of drivers. It is uniquely unfair to force a child to be a potential victim of a drunk driving incident.

For purposes of this law, a child is considered to be someone under 14 years old. The courts take this offense seriously and are willing to impose harsh penalties on those who are guilty of child endangerment. Many times a DUI / DWI lawyer will recommend that the driver accept a plea bargain that does not include the sentence enhancing charges.

The sentencing enhancement for a person convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol with children in the car is not taken lightly by judges and prosecutors. Punishments for such crimes mirror the seriousness with which these cases are prosecuted. An experienced California criminal defense attorney experienced in D.U.I. cases can help to eliminate such charges or to negotiate a compromised plea with the prosecutor.

California Vehicle Code VC 23550 – Penalty: Fourth or Subsequent Conviction Within Ten Years

California Vehicle Code VC 23550 – Penalty: Fourth or Subsequent Conviction Within Ten Years

23550. (a) If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and the offense occurred within 10 years of three or more separate violations of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or Section 23152 or 23153, or any combination thereof, that resulted in convictions, that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail for not less than 180 days nor more than one year, and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to paragraph (7) of subdivision (a) of Section 13352. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver’s license to the court in accordance with Section 13550.

(b) A person convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under this section shall be designated as a habitual traffic offender for a period of three years, subsequent to the conviction. The person shall be advised of this designation pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 13350.

Added Sec. 84, Ch. 118, Stats. 1998. Effective January 1, 1999. Operative July 1, 1999.
Amended Sec. 34.2, Ch. 22, Stats. 1999. Effective May 26, 1999. Operative July 1 1999.
Amended Sec. 25, Ch. 545, Stats. 2002. Effective January 1, 2003.
Amended Sec. 15, Ch. 500, Stats. 2004. Effective January 1, 2005.

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.

California Vehicle Code VC 23223 – Possession of Open Container in Motor Vehicle

California Vehicle Code VC 23223 – Possession of Open Container in Motor Vehicle

23223. (a) No driver shall have in his or her possession, while in a motor vehicle upon a highway or on lands, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23220, any bottle, can, or other receptacle, containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened, or a seal broken, or the contents of which have been partially removed.

(b) No passenger shall have in his or her possession, while in a motor vehicle upon a highway or on lands, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 23220, any bottle, can, or other receptacle containing any alcoholic beverage that has been opened or a seal broken, or the contents of which have been partially removed.

Amended Sec. 3, Ch. 384, Stats. 1998. Effective August 24, 1998.
Amended Sec. 3, Ch. 723, Stats. 1999. Effective January 1, 2000.

» Return to California Vehicle Codes

Note: Laws change frequently and thus the information provided should not be relied upon as legal advice. To be certain, contact a criminal defense attorney for a legal assistance.
www.NoCuffs.com is not liable for any misinformation that users obtain from using this site.